If you think your Google Search history contains something offensive and distasteful, here is how you can delete it

We had reported that Google now allows you to download an archived list of everything you have ever searched for since the time you have been on Google. The downloadable archive contains all the terms and keywords you have googled including the information which today you may consider as sensitive and offensive, and believe that it should not remain in public domain.

The Google Search archive not only lets you download the archive but also delete it.

“You can download all of your saved search history to see a list of the terms you’ve searched for,”according to Google’s website. “This gives you access to your data when and where you want.”

Kindly remember, deleting the list does not stop at Google’s search engine function. Google says that it will “store activity separately to prevent spam and abuse and to improve our services.”

Here’s how you can download your Google history:

Step 1: Sign into your Google account.

Step 2: View your Web & App Activity

Step 3: In the top right corner of the page, click the cogicon and select “Download.”

Step 4: Click “Create Archive.”

Step 5: When your personal archive is ready to be downloaded, Google will send you an email. You can then view the archive in the “Takeout Folder” of your Google Drive. You can also choose to download the list as a zip of JSON files onto your computer.

Here’s how you can delete your Google history:

Step 1: Sign into your Google account.

Step 2: View your Web & App Activity

Step 3: In the top right corner of the page, click thecogicon and select “Remove Items.”

Step 4: Choose time period for which you want to delete items. To delete your entire history, select “The Beginning of Time.”

Step 5: Click “Remove.”

Google has said the company is aware of the dangers associated with storing an extensive amount of personal information on home computers and warns users with a message before they download their entire search archive.

“If you have decided to take your data elsewhere, please research the data export policies of your destination,” the message reads. “Otherwise, if you ever want to leave the service, you may have to leave your data behind.”