You can now use unsend feature to delete embarrassing messages on WhatsApp

Finally, the wait for WhatsApp users is over, as the popular messaging service has introduced a new function that allows the option of deleting messages sent by mistake to save you from those face palm or embarrassing moments.

The Facebook-owned messaging app is rolling out a new message recall feature called “Delete for everyone (or Delete for me)” for iOS, Android, Windows Phone users that lets you remove specific messages forwarded in group and individual chats that you didn’t really want to send, reports website WABetaInfo.

The Delete for Everyone feature works on all types of messages including text messages, images, videos, GIFs, documents, voice messages, contact cards, and more.

However, the new feature is not yet available to everyone, as the rollout of Delete for Everyone is proving “very slow”, according to WABetaInfo. WhatsApp has provided more details about the new feature on a FAQ page.

To delete messages for everyone

Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.



In order to use the new feature to Delete Message For Everyone, you need to follow the below steps:

  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat that contains the message that needs to be deleted.
  2. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. You can also select multiple messages at once to delete them.
  3. Tap Delete > Delete for Everyone.

However, there is a snag to the unsend feature, as you have only up to seven minutes to delete messages for everyone after sending them. To fully enjoy the feature, you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone. This means that your recipient will still end up seeing the offending message if they are using an older version of the software. Also, your recipient may see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion was not successful. You will not be notified if the delete for everyone was unsuccessful. Additionally, this feature doesn’t work in case of broadcast messages.

How to Delete Message For Me

Delete Message For Me allows you to delete your copy of messages that you have sent or received from your phone. Your recipients will still see the messages in their chat screen, as this has no outcome on your recipients’ chats.

  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat that contains the message that needs to be deleted.
  2. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the option. You can also select multiple messages at once to delete them.
  3. Tap Delete > Delete for me.

 

 

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here