‘Shakti’-India’s First Processor Ready For App Development, SDK Released

A few days ago, a group of engineers from the Indian Institute of Technology in Madras developed India’s first open-source Shakti processor. This project was funded by the Indian Ministry of Electronics and Information technology.

Well, IIT Madras has now released the software development kit (SDK) for Shakti processor.

Additionally, IIT Madras has also confirmed that the development board will also be released soon. So here’s everything you need to know about the different classes of Shakti processor.

ALSO READ: AMD’s 16-Core Ryzen 9 3950X, 4.7 GHz CPU Coming This September

Shakti Processors: Different Classes

The team of engineers known as the RISE group had started working on the Shakti project back in the year 2016. RISE group has finally come up with six different classes of processors. These processors are dedicated to different markets and users.

'Shakti'-India's First Processor Is Now Ready For App Development As SDK Gets Released

Rise group has also claimed that Shakti Processor will compete with industry-leading processors in terms of area, performance, and power consumption.

It is worth noting that these processors were fabricated at the Indian Space Research Organisation’s (ISRO) Semi-Conductor Laboratory in Chandigarh, which makes them a made in India product.

Presently there are six different classes of processors, namely E-class, C-class, I-Class, M-class, S-Class, and H-Class. As mentioned earlier, these different classes of processors are dedicated to different uses.

The E-class is a 3-stage in-order processor, and it is targeted at embedded devices. On the other hand, C-class is a 32-bit 5 stage in-order microcontroller-class of processors supporting 0.2-1 GHz clock speeds.

Since C-class processors are low power profile processors, they are highly power efficient.

'Shakti'-India's First Processor Is Now Ready For App Development As SDK Gets Released

The I-class is 64-bit out-of-order processor that supports 1.5-2.5 GHz clock speeds and support for multi-threading. They are perfect for mobile, storage, and networking applications.

As the name of the M-Series suggests, these are multi-core processors, and they support up to eight CPU cores.

The S-class processors are aimed at the workstation and server-type workloads. Lastly, the H class processor is for high-performance computing and analytics workloads.

We can expect the entire Shakti processors lineup to be available for commercial usage in upcoming years. Do share your thoughts and opinions on Shakti processors in the comments section below.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news

Anubhav Tyagi
Anubhav Tyagi
Just a normal guy who listen to lots of music, but apart from that I love Tech!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news

Read More

Suggested Post