Meta on Tuesday announced that it is rolling out a new update that will allow users to delete their Threads profile without having to delete their Instagram account.
For those unaware, in July this year, Meta launched Threads – a new app built by the Instagram team – for sharing text updates and joining public conversations. To use this app, users are required to log in using their Instagram account credentials.
However, soon after its launch, Meta started receiving backlash for not offering users the option to delete their Threads account, as the only way to get rid of their Threads profile was to delete or deactivate their Instagram account.
This change by Meta comes in response to the feedback from the Threads community, allowing users to delete their Threads account separately without affecting their Instagram account. Users can now turn off automatic sharing of their posts to other social media apps, including Instagram and Facebook.
“We’re rolling out a way for you to delete your Threads profile separately from your Instagram account,” Instagram head Adam Mosseri announced on Threads.
To delete your Threads profile, you need to go to Settings and then Account. You will be provided two options: Delete or Deactivate Profile.
If you select the “Deactivate Profile” option, it will not permanently delete your Threads profile (in case you want to re-join again), and everything will be archived. On the other hand, if you choose the “Delete” option, Meta will delete your profile and all your posts but without deleting your Instagram account.
Mosseri also shared that the platform is rolling out a way that makes it easier for people to view Threads posts directly on Facebook and Instagram after it “heard feedback that you want more control over the experience.” This feature will help users expand their audience and increase their reach within the Instagram ecosystem.
While Mosseri provides no details on when these updates will roll out to users, we can expect the changes to happen in the coming days.