In December 2016, Google had launched a personal safety app called “Trusted Contacts” that allowed users to share their location with friends and family, even if their phone is offline or the battery is dead.

Almost four years later, the search giant has decided to pull the plug on the Trusted Contacts app.  

Ever since the launch of Trusted Contacts app, functionality found in this app have been built directly into Google Maps with Location Sharing making it even easier for users to share their live location with trusted family and friends. 

As a result, effective October 16, 2020, Google has removed the Trusted Contacts app from the Apple App Store and Google Play Store. For those who have installed the app on their phone shall be able to use the service until December 1, 2020, after which Google will stop supporting the app.

According to Google, those who have created trusted contacts can download them from the trusted contacts page until December 1, 2020. After this date, the Trusted Contacts app will no longer work and the trusted contacts will be unable to see the live location that is being shared from the app. 

If you wish to continue sharing your location with family and friends, you can try Location Sharing in Google Maps

This is not the first time Google has killed its products and services. In fact, the search giant has a complete dedicated website called Killed by Google that lists the apps and services discontinued by Google.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here