Who Deleted Me,” the app that showed users who unfriended you on Facebook, has paradoxically been deleted itself, by Facebook
Who Deleted Me,” the app that allowed Facebook users to see who had removed them from their friends list, has ironically been deleted itself.
The app has been removed from both Apple’s App Store and the Google Play Store after Facebook asked the developer “Anthony Kuske” to remove the app for violating its platform policies. The “Who Deleted Me” browser extension for Google Chrome has also been disabled.
Well that was fun while it lasted! In a statement, the app’s developer Anthony Kuske said:
“Regrettably, due to a request by Facebook, Who Deleted Me is no longer available on any platform. Who Deleted Me was planned to be a useful tool to enhance users’ Facebook experience; however Facebook did not see it the same way.”
Kuske was stunned by how rapidly the app exploded in popularity, but Facebook wasn’t down with all the deletion data dumps. A spokesperson for the social giant said, “We take action against any app that violates our terms and policies.”
The app garnered a lot of attention from Facebook users keen to see what friends had deleted them. The app became the number one free downloaded app in the App Store and garnered enough traffic that the service was forced offline as developers tried to manage with the level of traffic.
According to the company’s statement, all personal information stored on the app – which downloaded your entire contact list from Facebook in order to work – has been deleted.
Kuske added that all personal information was securely erased and that he plans to start work on new non-Facebook related projects. He did not specify what those other projects might be.
The app first launched in the year 2009 by connecting directly with Facebook, but was then disabled after Facebook said the app violated its policies. The developer then found a way to give users the same information by downloading users’ friend’s lists and keeping tabs on who was there – and who wasn’t there.
But that didn’t sit well with Facebook either, because it “circumvented their anticipated restrictions,” Mashable reported.
What about U — did U get to use the app before it got axed? Have U lost any real-life friends after finding they deleted you?!