Google now lets users delete search history more easily
Google announced that it is making it easier for users to understand and control their data from directly within its products, starting with Search.
“Today, we’re making it easier for you to make decisions about your data directly within the Google products you use every day, starting with Search. Without ever leaving Search, you can now review and delete your recent Search activity, get quick access to the most relevant privacy controls in your Google Account, and learn more about how Search works with your data,” said Google’s Eric Miraglia, Director of Product Management, Privacy and Data Protection Office in a blog post.
In other words, Google has made it easy for you to review and delete your most recent Search activity, access privacy controls in the Google Account, and learn more about how Search works with the data you provide. You can access all this information without having to leave Search.
Previously, the only way you could access your data and see how it is used was via your Google Account. This new change allows you quick access to the privacy controls in your Google Account that are most relevant as you use Search.
“For example, to control the ads you see when you search, we give you access to your Ad Settings. Additionally, you can access your Activity Controls to decide what information Google saves to your account and uses to make Search and other Google services faster, smarter and more useful,” Miraglia added.
This new improvement is now rolling out in Google Search on desktop and mobile web and is expected to be available in the Google app for iOS and Android in the coming weeks. This feature will be expanded to Google Maps next year followed by many other Google services.