google drive

Google on Thursday rolled out a new security feature that warns users about potential malicious or dangerous files on Google Drive. This feature, which is meant to provide additional protections to safeguard against abusive content, was first announced by the search giant at Google Cloud Next 2021 in October.

Google will now start displaying a yellow warning banner on the top of the screen when a user is about to download and open a potentially suspicious or dangerous document, image, or any type of file, in Drive.

This feature will help the user protect themselves and their organization from malware, phishing, and ransomware.

For instance, if a user tries to open a suspicious file, photo, or document in Google Drive, then the app will carry out a quick scan and display the following message: “The file looks suspicious. It might be used to steal your personal information.”

It is worth noting that these security alerts are already available when opening Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, and Drawings, as it was rolled out to these file-syncing services late last year.

Google also mentions that there is no admin control as well as no end user setting for this feature and that it will be enabled by default.

Starting January 20, 2022, the new banner feature has been rolled out across all Google Workspace, G Suite Basic, and G Suite Business tiers and will reach these users within the next 15 days.