Gmail’s ‘Undo Send’ feature finally to be on the web after six years
In what seems to have been the longest “experimental” periods of any product feature, Google has finally brought Gmail’s “Undo Send” option to the main settings on the Web version of Gmail.
Undo Send as the name suggests gives you a set period of time after sending an email to change your mind. Once you have clicked “Send”, you will see an option to undo it on your screen for between 5 and 30 seconds, depending on what you have mentioned in the settings.
The Undo Send to Gmail was first introduced by Google in March 2009 as an experiment. This feature has since then sat quietly in the “Labs” area of Gmail, which Google uses to test out new features — users have to switch on these features manually to use them.
Henceforth, you will see the Undo Send in the main “General” tab of the settings. If the option is already switched on by you in Labs, then it will still be switched on by default. If you have not, you’ll need to check the little box next to “Enable Undo Send.”
Today’s news comes less than a month after Google started its experimental mobile email app, Inbox, to everyone and that too features the Undo Send.